Promiscuous Reading

June 25, 2009 at 1:13 am (Book Thoughts)

I haven’t posted anything because I’m in a reading funk.  There are too many books being read at the same time.  All seem promising, but none of them have grabbed me and held on.  I want a book that shakes me up and gives me reading fever.

I’ve experienced a reading funk before.  The only way out of it, at least for me, is to find a saving book.  A novel, play, short story, just something that makes me want to read more than anything.  At the moment, the half-read stack beside my bed is overwhelming. 

Each night I find myself in a different story, never finishing anything.  It feels a bit like a series of one night stands.  There is nothing meaningful going on with my reading.  I want more.  I want a relationship.

Originally, I thought the solution could be found by having a relationship with one author. So I bought and checked out some books by one author, and although they are good, they are not what I’m looking for.  I want a relationship with an individual book.  When the last page is turned I want to miss the characters.  The writing should be so good it makes me feel like I can write.  The bottom line is inspiration.  I haven’t stayed up all night reading in a long time.  I miss it.

What is the next book I need to read?  Which characters will drag me out of my funk and restore my reading health?  I don’t know, but I will continue looking.

4 Comments

  1. Sarah said,

    I’ve been feeling the same way about my reading as well. Possibly because someone asked me what I had read lately and even though I’m consistently reading 4-8 books a month, I couldn’t name a single one. I’ve read some books that are enjoyable, but very few that have made any sort of impact.
    That being said, here are the few that have gotten me out of reading funks in the past year or two.
    That Distant Land by Wendell Berry. I don’t know if you’ve read anything of his, but this is just a collection of his short stories. However, they are all about the same fictional town of Port William, Kentucky and this collection is in chronological order. I love love this book and his characters. This link has a better review than I could give. http://www.nimblespirit.com/html/that_distant_land_review.htm
    Winter’s Tale by Mark Helprin. It’s about turn of the century New York, a man who doesn’t age and a magical horse. Also rival newspapers and bridges made of light. I can’t even describe it I am so fond of this book, it’s magical and heartbreaking and bizarre.
    One!Hundred!Demons by Lynda Barry. It’s a graphic novel where the author attempts to draw all of her personal demons. It’s funny, honest and sweet. I sort of heart Lynda Barry, I wish I had known about her when I was a teenager.

    Hope those help, I”d love a little list of yours too!

  2. debra Johnson said,

    Hi I am a friend, student, admirer of your mom. You remind me so much of myself when I was your age. I read deep epic serious stuff almost obsessively. Now that I am older I am mostly into escapism for fun, comic relief and yes escapism. I get my fix on sci-fi. I guarantee if you ever picked up “Midnight” by Dean Koontz you won’t stop reading until the last page. And yes the characters will stay with you long into the next week. Perfect “beach” book.

    Check out my blog sometimes and if you like become a “follower.” I’ll be adding you to my blogroll! Keep writing.

  3. creativelandslide said,

    I’ve never read Dean Koontz. I will have to give him a try. My mom really liked “Whispers”. Have you read that one?

  4. creativelandslide said,

    Sarah, I will try your suggestions and let you know what I think. I’ve been thinking about the books I might suggest to drag someone out of a book funk. Here is what I’ve come up with. For some reason I fall back on young adult novels whenever I feel tired of reading.
    Stargirl by Jerry Spinelli is very entertaining and a quick read. I read it a year ago and still think about the characters.
    Ferris Beach by Jill McCorkle is a book I discovered in middle school, but I frequently go back and read it whenever I want something I know is good.
    The Cheer Leader by Jill McCorkle is also a great read.

Leave a Reply

