Books That Spoil Us

September 30, 2009 at 2:42 pm (Book Thoughts)

My lapse in blogging will be attributed to Harry Potter. I started reading the series in July, thanks to Jesse Jarnow’s article “Of Potter and Proust” published in Paste magazine. Jarnow has a style of writing that makes the reader trust his opinion. He mixes humor with the perfect amount of authority, and before I knew it I was off to pick up copies of Potter and Proust. My time with Proust proved unsuccessful. Many apologies to Mr. Jarnow. I promise to return to Proust at a later date.

I spent three weeks with Harry. In that time, I woke up mumbling about muggles, and struggled over Snape’s loyalty. One day I actually thought I witnessed a young boy with a wand. My glimmer of excitement was squelched when I realized it was a drumstick. Obviously Harry had my attention. Since my immersion I have been dwelling in the afterglow of a brilliant story. It is difficult to compliment a work so widely praised and admired. Doubting my own ability to bring something new to the Potter discussion I’ve decided to avoid commenting on the work. Instead I would like to talk about those novels that spoil us as readers.

Personally, once I’ve finished something so perfect it is almost impossible to move on. Since Harry Potter nothing else has captured my attention and emotions. I realize that coming out of a series is a bit more difficult because I was saturated  in the fictional world for so long, but what is the cure for this reading illness? How do we move on after becoming so attached to certain characters? Or after settling down in another world? I don’t have an answer for this. My usual solution is to spend weeks reading a lot of first chapters until I fall into another relationship with a captivating novel or series. Is there a better way? I’m hitting the bookshelves to find out.

For those of you who haven’t experienced Harry Potter, please read Jesse Jarnow’s article and then proceed to your local library or bookstore. Enjoy.

1 Comment

  1. Mindy said,

    I’ve read the first 4 ? books. My 14 year old niece is obsessed with the books and we watched all of the movies. but I have to watch the movie before I’ll read the book – I know I’m so weird. Books seldom disappoint me. I once read Lord of the Rings and could not wait to see the movie, which paled in comparison to the beautiful image i gathered from the book. Lesson Learned from that point forward.

    I to get lost in the characters and worlds created by wonderful stories of a series. I feel such excitement as I’m charging through the list, yet sadness seeps in as I near the end. How will I go on without knowing the next chapter of my new favorite character’s life and story? I wonder.

    I continue to do it over and over again. I’m currently hooked on young adult series books. there is such great stuff out there. Yet as I a writer I sit here reading the books from great writers and wondering what the heck I have to add …how can my stories compete with such greatness…and I write nothing but continue to read. read. read.

    When u figure it out, let me know!!! great blog!

Leave a Reply

